RICHMOND, VA (June 24, 2021) – The ECNL achieved a record-breaking 38 athletes across ECNL Boys and Girls that were selected as 2020-21 Gatorade State High School Players of the Year. In addition to a record number of athletes selected, both the Gatorade Boys and Girls National Player of the Year, Bryce Boneau (FC Dallas) and Alyssa Thompson (Real So Cal) competed in The ECNL. 

Thirty different clubs are represented among the 38 award winners; two clubs (Charlotte SA and South Carolina United) had winners on both the boys and girls side and two other clubs (Alabama FC and FC Stars) had multiple winners on the girls side. In eight states, there was a sweep of Gatorade State High School Players of the Year, with an ECNL athlete receiving the recognition on the boys and girls side (Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Washington).

“Being named a Gatorade State High School Player of the Year is a huge honor,” said ECNL President Christian Lavers. “We’re proud to have such a high number of athletes receive this honor, and to have Bryce and Alyssa be named the Gatorade National Player of the Year is a great testament to the work and dedication they’ve put in on and off the field. These numbers are even more impressive when you recognize that not all ECNL athletes compete in high school soccer and we support all athletes in this choice.”

Please join the ECNL in celebrating every Gatorade State High School Player of the Year. 


State Player Club
Arizona Charlie Cobb Real Salt Lake – AZ
Colorado Jeff Koch Pride SC
Delaware Aidan McDade Sporting Delaware
Florida Marcello Valbuena Florida Premier
Georgia Kadeem Agand GSA
Maryland Tyquan Stroud Baltimore Celtic
Nevada Diesel Fiore Heat FC
New Mexico Marcus Garcia Rio Rapids
North Carolina Carter Hensley Charlotte SA
South Carolina Jackson Price South Carolina United
Tennessee Gui Vivaldini Chattanooga Red Wolves
Texas Bryce Boneau FC Dallas
Washington Thomas Vlasek Spokane Sounders



State Player Club
Alabama Haley Duca Alabama FC
Arizona Maggie Cagle Phoenix Rising
California Alyssa Thompson Real So Cal
DC Zoe Vidaurre Maryland United
Florida Mia Asenjo Florida Krush
Georgia Henley Tippins Concorde Fire Platinum
Idaho Kelsey Oyler Boise Thorns
Indiana Quincy McMahon Indiana Fire Juniors
Maine Maggie Cochran FC Stars 
Maryland Payton Patrick Pipeline SC
Massachusetts Ariana Benzanson FC Stars 
Minnesota Khyah Harper Minnesota Thunder
Mississippi Kate Smith Alabama FC
Missouri Rylee Howard St. Louis Scott Gallagher
New Hampshire Ella Fraser FC Stars
New Jersey Emily Mason PDA
New York Shae O’Rourke WNY Flash
North Carolina Asha Means Charlotte SA
Ohio Taylor Huff Internationals
Oklahoma Makenzie Malham Tulsa SC
Oregon Abi Hoffman Crossfire United
South Carolina Alaire Hodge South Carolina United
Tennessee Caroline Betts Tennessee SC
Washington Layne St. George Seattle United
Wisconsin Maggie Starker FC Wisconsin


For more information on the Gatorade Player of the Year program visit and follow the program using #GatoradePOY.


About the ECNL:

The ECNL is the nation’s leading youth soccer development platform. The ECNL respects and celebrates the unique individuality of every youth soccer player and club, supporting and enabling them to unleash their unfettered passion and fierce tenacity in striving to achieve their potential. 

The ECNL mission to Raise the Game is a total commitment to create the best possible environment for players, coaches, referees and administrators, with a determination to constantly question convention and challenge the status quo in youth sports.

The ECNL Commitment:

We will lead, set our eyes on new horizons, and pursue them relentlessly. Born out of the belief in a better way. Continued in the ever-evolving pursuit of excellence.